“Why should I hire you?”

When you’re telephoning business prospects to offer your freelance or consulting services, sooner or later (probably sooner) someone will ask: “Why should I hire you?”

The obvious answer is, “Because you get me.”

It’s kind of impertinent at first glance, but actually, it’s not a bad answer depending, of course, on how you say it.

The worst answer is to compare yourself to the competition. You don’t know who else they’ve talked to or even if they have talked to anyone else, so you don’t want to suggest names to them that they may not be aware of.

Anyway, you don’t want to look nasty, catty or angry.

Compared to putting down others, “Because you get me” is much better.

Of course, you want to say more than that.

One path is to state your Unique Selling Proposition.

If you have one.

But I recommend going ahead and phoning prospects even before you have the perfect USP or even any USP at all.

Once you go down this rabbit hole, you may find yourself blocked from moving ahead in any kind of results-oriented way. Minimally, you may be sitting at your kitchen table, pencil and pad in hand, for what seems like an eternity.

But there’s another danger too. You can sound stilted and formal as you rattle off your script from memory.

You already have a conversation going, so why not continue in a relaxed, conversational style rather than lapsing into market-speak?

Keep it simple and direct.

Here’s an idea:

“You get me. I love my clients and I love my work. You get my work and I maintain close contact with you. Just as I’m calling you myself right now.”

The point isn’t to craft the exact words perfectly. You may wish to play with your answer in your mind in advance, but it’s more important to relax and communicate what you’re all about spontaneously.

Leave a Reply

