My family card and update, 2009

Dear Reader,

Every year my husband Wayne and I send out a holiday card. It’s a big production that claims our dining room table for days. Wayne is the computer and print production expert, as well as the designer and photographer, and I’m the primary writer with Wayne’s assistance.

This year, as I conclude my first year of Stand Up 8 Times, I’m so happy to share this card with you.

I appreciate your reading my newsletter and blog, and I’ve enjoyed the thoughtful, stimulating comments and ideas you’ve contributed during the year.

Many weekly newsletters and blogs such as mine feature frequent updates on the writer’s family news, complete with photos. I love reading about your personal lives on an ongoing basis, but this approach simply doesn’t work for me. While many writers may be tormented in trying to think up article topics, I’m the opposite. Subjects for articles come easily, but it’s difficult for me to think of personal news worth publishing.

And that’s just the way I like it!

Wayne and I have six children between us (like the Brady bunch but without Alice). All six are in their twenties and independent. Wayne and I both love our work and share our ideas and industry news throughout the day—it’s like living in a mutually supportive, round-the-clock MasterMind group.

Much of my day is spent in my home office—the first such separate office I’ve ever had in my life. I gaze out the back window and watch the seasons unfurl in a typical suburban backyard.

I love my life just as it is. I am fully receptive to business growth and profitable opportunities, but in this season of annual goal setting, complete with visualization and clipping pictures from magazines, there is relatively little that I aspire to purchase. My biggest buying addiction is print magazines and newspapers, including the daily Chicago Tribune and Wall Street Journal.

I am excited by my plans for next year. I am writing my first ebook on (of course) how to take control of your life and start earning money quickly as a freelancer or consultant. I also aspire to do more public speaking, especially in the Chicago area (invites welcome!), and stir up some media attention.

In 2010, I want to keep in touch with you and learn more about your experiences at the intersection of corporate work and self-employment. But most of all, I want to help you improve your life and find avenues to employment that are emotionally and financially fulfilling.

Now here’s the link to my family’s holiday card for 2009.

With best wishes for health and happiness in the New Year.

Love,

Diana

2 responses to “My family card and update, 2009

  1. Diana,
    This is so well written, thanks for sharing. I am looking forward to reading more of your blogs, and of course, looking forward to your ebook.

    I trust 2010 will be the best year yet.

  2. Thank you, Linda. Writing the card and its intro is such a fun yet reflexive task. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

