Getting to know you. (Singing the “South Pacific” song.)

Remember the old-time beauty pageants on TV? Remember the naming of Miss Congeniality, the oh-so-gracious loser?

The women (girls?) would assemble in classic choral formation and sing Getting To Know You, swaying back and forth in unison and pretending to love one another.

Though I’m wearing no sash and wouldn’t dare compete in the swimsuit competition, I’d like to get to know you.

I started Stand Up 8 Times in January 2009. So this business is still young (though developed from years of experience).

There are disadvantages to being small. I’m not rich. Nor am I hanging out virtually with the big-name gurus of Internet-dom such as Seth Godin and Chris Brogan.

But I prefer to see the glass as half full. I am available to develop deeper relationships with you readers.

Lately I’ve been evaluating my participation in LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter. Especially Twitter.

The Twitter concept is that essentially you build your list of followers by following others, who reciprocate. Then you employ the viral aspect of Twitter by retweeting (forwarding) messages from others and otherwise engaging with people who interest you and with whom you would like to develop relationships.

I’ve done a fair amount of this activity, and frankly, though I’ve “met” some individuals I think I like, for the most part I feel that I am relaying messages to and from strangers.

I’d rather get to know you.

I am honored that you subscribe to my newsletter or at least have clicked in to read something I have written. Rather than promote the work of strangers, I’d much rather connect to you and promote what you do (as appropriate).

I’d love to learn more about you. What you are doing lately? Do you freelance or consult? Are you thinking about doing either? What services do you offer? Are you looking for a full-time job too? If so, what kind?

And more questions:

What are your freelance and consulting concerns? What type of information or guidance would you like to see me write about? Where did you learn about Stand Up 8 Times?

Please initiate a connection with me on LinkedIn (Diana Schneidman), Facebook (Diana Schneidman) and / or Twitter (DianaSchneidman), letting me know who you are and that you read this entry. I’ll accept the connection, friendship or whatever it is called.

I also invite your emails at Diana (AT) StandUp8Times.com.

Here’s to our mutual “biggification.”*

*Word borrowed from Havi Brooks at The Fluent Self.

—Diana

5 responses to “Getting to know you. (Singing the “South Pacific” song.)

  1. Since last fall, I’ve been trying to develop a niche working with writers who self-publish. It’s very slow going because I can’t push potential clients very hard; all I can do is keep in touch. I’m also working on expanding my services (copy editing and proofreading) to include developmental editing, having read Scott Norton’s excellent book on the subject.

    Another area I’m actively working on is connecting with people who handle other parts of the publishing process (agents, designers, printers, etc.) for mutual referrals.

    In the meantime I take work from publishers and development houses when I can get it to keep busy, but it’s been frustrating because many of them have lowered their rates. I also help out a friend in her office. I haven’t given up on a full-time editorial job, but have only interviewed at three companies this year. I’m comfortable working at home and would prefer to do that if I could get enough assignments.

  2. Barbara, it sounds like you are working hard and thoughtfully–I know it will work out.

    Are you familiar with the National Speakers Association? They have an Illinois chapter that is very active. Many of the members are self-publishing books or information products and could use some help. Let me know if you’d like more info.

    -Diana

  3. Good morning,
    I discovered you through Twitter, just by browsing my followers links. I agree, using Twitter is rather impersonal. I don’t like Facebook.

    I am a senior who likes to write, never anything too serious. My writing is not the kind people pay for, just a personal hobby. I am always, always learning and researching and so want to learn more about you and your business.

    Thanks for listening,
    MissDazey

  4. Writing as a hobby is a wonderful thing. Keep at it!

    One of the wonderful things about the internet is that it allows writers to share and connect with others, even if they have no professional goals. It provides wonderful new dimensions to writing as a hobby.

    Best,
    -d

  5. I have a varied background in both sales and marketing, working in both very large corporations and sole proprietor companies. Having been on the marketing agency side for six years I find that I want to look at moving to the client side (yikes, a real job) but am doing some consulting until the right opportunity comes along. Who knows where this will take me. I like your thinking in wanting to get to know people better. I believe that it is through building relationships that the greatest aspects of life on this planet derive. I know my greatest rewards in working with clients is knowing I had a positive impact on their businesses and their lives.

Leave a Reply

